Close cookie details

This site uses cookies. Learn more about cookies.

OverDrive would like to use cookies to store information on your computer to improve your user experience at our Website. One of the cookies we use is critical for certain aspects of the site to operate and has already been set. You may delete and block all cookies from this site, but this could affect certain features or services of the site. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, click here to see our Privacy Policy.

If you do not wish to continue, please click here to exit this site.

Hide notification

  Main Nav
Taste
Cover of Taste
Taste
My Life Through Food
INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Named a Notable Book of 2021 by NPR and The Washington Post

From award-winning actor and food obsessive Stanley Tucci comes an intimate and charming memoir of life in and out of the kitchen.
Stanley Tucci grew up in an Italian American family that spent every night around the kitchen table. He shared the magic of those meals with us in The Tucci Cookbook and The Tucci Table, and now he takes us beyond the savory recipes and into the compelling stories behind them.​

Taste is a reflection on the intersection of food and life, filled with anecdotes about his growing up in Westchester, New York; preparing for and shooting the foodie films Big Night and Julie & Julia; falling in love over dinner; and teaming up with his wife to create meals for a multitude of children. Each morsel of this gastronomic journey through good times and bad, five-star meals and burned dishes, is as heartfelt and delicious as the last.

Written with Stanley's signature wry humor, Taste is for fans of Bill Buford, Gabrielle Hamilton, and Ruth Reichl—and anyone who knows the power of a home-cooked meal.
INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Named a Notable Book of 2021 by NPR and The Washington Post

From award-winning actor and food obsessive Stanley Tucci comes an intimate and charming memoir of life in and out of the kitchen.
Stanley Tucci grew up in an Italian American family that spent every night around the kitchen table. He shared the magic of those meals with us in The Tucci Cookbook and The Tucci Table, and now he takes us beyond the savory recipes and into the compelling stories behind them.​

Taste is a reflection on the intersection of food and life, filled with anecdotes about his growing up in Westchester, New York; preparing for and shooting the foodie films Big Night and Julie & Julia; falling in love over dinner; and teaming up with his wife to create meals for a multitude of children. Each morsel of this gastronomic journey through good times and bad, five-star meals and burned dishes, is as heartfelt and delicious as the last.

Written with Stanley's signature wry humor, Taste is for fans of Bill Buford, Gabrielle Hamilton, and Ruth Reichl—and anyone who knows the power of a home-cooked meal.
Available formats-
  • OverDrive Read
  • EPUB eBook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    0
  • Library copies:
    1
Levels-
  • ATOS:
  • Lexile:
  • Interest Level:
  • Text Difficulty:


About the Author-
  • Stanley Tucci is an actor, writer, director, and producer. He has directed five films and appeared in over seventy films, countless television shows, and a dozen plays on and off Broadway. He has been nominated for an Academy Award, a Tony, and a spoken word Grammy; is a winner of two Golden Globes and six Emmys; and has received numerous other critical and professional awards and accolades. A lover of all things culinary, Stanley wrote and directed Big Night, the critically acclaimed movie about two brothers running a failing restaurant, starred in Julie & Julia, and is the host of three-time Emmy winning Searching for Italy. He is also pretty adept with a cocktail shaker. He is the author of Taste: My Life Through Food and two cookbooks, The Tucci Table and The Tucci Cookbook.
Reviews-
  • Library Journal

    May 1, 2021

    Since he's the winner of two Golden Globes and two Emmys, plus claimant to Academy Award and Tony nominations, you would think Tucci would tell his life through film. But no, he's chosen food--not so surprising as he's the author of two cookbooks and learned his love of eating early from his Italian American family. With a 150,000-copy first printing.

    Copyright 2021 Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

  • Booklist

    October 6, 2021
    Prolific actor for stage, screen, and television; director and star of the classic foodie film Big Night; cookbook author and now memoirist Tucci (The Tucci Table, 2014) does exactly what this book's subtitle says he will. From his childhood in the suburbs of Westchester, New York to his present in pandemic-altered London, Tucci reenvisions his life in a parade of meals: those cooked by his Calabrese Italian family, his mother in particular; memorable restaurant experiences while on location for work; the food he lovingly prepares for his family, and more. While his non-food-related life happens in the background--being young and broke in Manhattan, finding acting success, losing his first wife to devastating cancer, falling in love and expanding his family anew--food takes center stage. Lest readers drown in Tucci's mouthwatering food descriptions (minus that one, ill-advised French sausage), plenty of recipes appear for reproducing everything from his family's Sunday rag� to his English wife's crispy roasted potatoes and a cocktail or three. Easily flipping from tongue-in-cheek supercilious to self-deprecation, Tucci is the formal-yet-unpretentious, companionable narrator fans will expect. A late, heartfelt chapter lets readers into Tucci's until-now private battle with tongue cancer in recent years, and the physically and emotionally challenging recovery that confirmed, as he was hardly able to eat, the important role food plays in his life, happiness, and love for others.HIGH-DEMAND BACKSTORY: Especially considering the recent success of Tucci's Searching Italy series on CNN, expect avid requests.

    COPYRIGHT(2021) Booklist, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

  • Library Journal

    December 1, 2021

    Actor Tucci waxes nostalgic in his new entry into the realm of culinary memoirs, following his new CBS show Searching for Italy and two cookbooks (The Tucci Cookbook; The Tucci Table). Tucci begins with a meandering reminiscence about his early years in Westchester County, New York, with vivid descriptions of his immigrant family's Italian cooking, conveyed in an irreverent, conversational style. Later chapters delve into fare that Tucci was served by family, restauranteurs, and friends at home, on vacation, and on set--in Italy and beyond. Some anecdotes are conveyed in the form of scenes from a screenplay, adding a lively, humorous touch. Sprinkled throughout are a handful of family recipes for cocktails and memorable dishes (e.g., Spaghetti con Zucchine alla Nerano) of varying complexity and portion size. The book changes course when its focus shifts away from Tucci's own personal experiences and instead begins discussing Italian culinary history and well-known chefs and personalities (including Julia Child, who needs no introduction). Overall, an entertaining glimpse into Tucci's passion for cooking both with and for his friends and extended family. VERDICT A no-brainer for fans of Tucci or those interested in food memoirs; this heartfelt account will also appeal to anyone interested in Italian home cooking.--Rebecca Brody, Westfield State Univ., MA

    Copyright 2021 Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

Title Information+
  • Publisher
    Gallery Books
  • OverDrive Read
    Release date:
  • EPUB eBook
    Release date:
Digital Rights Information+
  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

Status bar:

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You've reached the maximum number of titles you can recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 0 titles every 0 day(s).

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend your library consider adding this title to the Digital Collection.

Close

Enhanced Details

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

MP3 audiobooks are only supported on macOS 10.6 (Snow Leopard) through 10.14 (Mojave). Learn more about MP3 audiobook support on Macs.

Close

Please update to the latest version of the OverDrive app to stream videos.

Close

Device Compatibility Notice

The OverDrive app is required for this format on your current device.

Close

Bahrain, Egypt, Hong Kong, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, the Sudan, the Syrian Arab Republic, Tunisia, Turkey, the United Arab Emirates, and Yemen

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Buy it now
and help our library WIN!
Taste
Taste
My Life Through Food
Stanley Tucci
Choose a retail partner below to buy this title for yourself.
A portion of this purchase goes to support your library.
Close
Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

You will be prompted to sign into your library account on the next page.

If this is your first time selecting “Send to NOOK,” you will then be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel